Bias bind (58 out of 365) #blogaday #sol15

SOL day 7slice of life logoSituation:  ​I work at a children’s center and the group went to play sports ​​​​​this week with the college club sports members. During the volleyball portion, one of the balls rolled into a corner and a boy went to get it. He called me over to help because there was a big bug next to the ball.sssd bug postI was shocked ​by his reaction because he seemed like someone who wouldn’t mind about bugs. I realized afterwards that I had gender stereotyped him – I assumed that because he acted tougher and played rough games that he would be fine with insects. This has been something that my graduate program focuses on because they want us to be aware of our cultural biases. I am trying very hard not to make assumptions, but in our society, it is difficult. I am glad that it came to my attention though with this particular scenario. As a teacher, it is important to keep all your students equal in your mind and not have stereotypes towards them.

14 thoughts on “Bias bind (58 out of 365) #blogaday #sol15

  1. It is so hard not to make assumptions about people based on looks and actions. This is something we all need to strive to do away with. What a better world we would live in if we did.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So important! It is hard to stop making assumptions. I know that one of my sons seems like a rough and tumble kid… and he has a hard time with sitting still and being kind to everyone else… but in reality he is a sensitive kid trying to make his way and figure it all out. The one hope that I hold on to is that his teachers will continue to meet him without assumptions and stereotypes. Thanks for thinking about this and writing about it too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment