Deserving a day off (37 out of 365) #blogaday

As future teachers, we are inclined to keep working late into the night after our field placements or class. It is important to us that we bring our “work” home and plan for the next day’s lesson by prepping materials. However, we aren’t teachers just yet and having class til 8 or 9 at night as well as teaching part-time in the classroom from 8-3 can be very stressful and tiring. Burning out is inevitable if you do not help yourself out and take a breather. day off post4Even though there is homework most nights for a class the next day, you should rest after your time at field placement on the one night we have off. There are always things coming up that you could work on, but if they aren’t long projects, you can put them off a day or two. Stress can build up quickly if you are constantly on the move and don’t let yourself relax with a fun book, show, friends, or by taking a nap. day off post2I took advantage of napping on Monday this week because I could just tell that I was utterly exhausted – my eyes were closing at about 1 pm that day and when I got home at 3, I crashed. I felt very refreshed afterwards, and like I could continue the week without struggle. Yesterday was my day without class and I made sure not to do any homework! I did my blog post, caught up on some shows, and read chapters of my professional development books. I have done work on Thursdays previously, so resting instead was a very good discovery 🙂day off post1

Leave a Reply

