Why has History hibernated? (138 out of 365) #blogaday

Conversations that went on at a dinner party tonight made me think about the impact of History and how it is taught. It also depends on the person and how interested they are in the subject; however, you can make most things engaging if it is taught effectively. I could not contribute in the conversation, and I think part of it is my nature – BUT a large portion of it was that I did not want to embarrass myself by stating something that was not true. Besides one year of engaging History class, I can say that my experience learning the subject was very dull. We read from the textbooks and had lectures about it more often than not. Involvement in the topics and actually having debates would have helped me understand more about politics and remember a lot more of the content.

Leave a Reply

