Animals and adulthood (121 out of 365) #blogaday

Today, I decided to take the family dog to the vet because he wasn’t acting normal. After talking to the doctors and then my parents, I realized that this was my first “real” adult issue. Having to figure out if the money was worth it or if the dog was sick enough to do recommended procedures. It was interesting to be placed in that situation, when the dog just has discomfort and stomach upset, and to see my reaction – I started thinking about what I would do if he was deathly ill. It showed me more about being an adult and how to handle tough circumstances. Everything I have gone through in grad school is useful for me to better understand what might occur when I have a job and am more independent from my parents.

Leave a Reply

