Little red HEN or HENRY? (111 out of 365) #blogaday

This is such a cute idea! I love the Little Red Hen, and the message it teaches about helping others. This is a great spin on it (Little Red Henry) to teach children about doing it themselves.

Nerdy Book Club

Years ago, when my son was a preschooler, I watched one of his classmates struggling to put on the many layers of snow gear that can sometimes be required for a Vermont recess. His mom hurried over to help him remove his leg from the armhole of his parka. “I can do it myself!” said the preschooler. And, eventually, he did well enough that he was able to join his pals outside.

I was reminded of him a few days later when I joined that same preschool class for circle time. Ms. Amy was reading The Little Red Hen. You remember The Little Red Hen, right? Hen has some planting to do and she asks her barnyard buddies for help.
“Who will help me sow the wheat?” she asked.
The response was less enthusiastic than she had hoped.
“Not I,” said the dog.
“Not I,” said the pig.
“Not I,”…

View original post 608 more words

Leave a Reply

