Manipulating memory (80 out of 365) #blogaday #sol15

SOL day 29slice of life logo
Wow! Can’t believe I made it to Day 80 already! Time flies 😮

I watched Still Alice today, and it got me thinking about how memory works and how to train one’s memories. I searched for a teaching tool to do with memory and found (CLICK->) this post on memory games. There is a lot of science that goes into memory and how it works, which is quite complicated for me, but I know that I used to do memory games when I was younger. Even though we are trying to get past having students memorize facts, I still think there are some perks to memorizing and being able to remember content (like multiplication facts or formulas) – for adding and subtracting, there are other strategies that children can try such as involving their fingers and actual movable cubes; however, the process of figuring out a higher level problem without the formula can be difficult for anyone who isn’t a mathematician. Memory and memorization are not the same thing though – there are things you remember from your past that haven’t been memorized, as well as things you memorized that you don’t recall.memory postEnough of my rant about memory now… The games I found looked like fun and came with research to help students who struggle to focus, if working memory is a factor. It would be an entertaining way for children to learn without realizing that they are training their brain. Not that I promote manipulating children into knowing information, but games are great for practicing and fun for the students. From this site, I discovered that working memory can affect how children act in class with directions, writing down information, focusing, and others. If the students can work on this in a fun way, it would benefit everyone. I think I may have stations that involve memory games during workshop time with reading or math because all students could train their brains and have a good time doing it 🙂

2 thoughts on “Manipulating memory (80 out of 365) #blogaday #sol15

  1. I love all your ideas about memory and how the movie sparked your interest in including it more in your teaching. (I’m curious how the movie was–I read and loved the book a few years ago.) I’d love to see your memory activities in action in your classroom–such an intriguing idea!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

