Texting translations (71 out of 365) #blogaday #sol15

SOL day 20slice of life logo

Silly student doing #4

When I was helping some of the fifth grade students with writing, we got off track and started talking about texting terms. One of the boys asked me about abbreviations and whether or not I knew what they stood for – most of them I used or had heard of before through instant messaging. However, there were some I didn’t recognize like NRN meaning “not right now.” It was interesting to hear that many of the same abbreviations are appearing and some new ones.texting postI don’t remember any other ones he was telling me, but it got me thinking about why children feel the need to shorten the words in text messages so much.  I use very few abbreviations in my texting because it really isn’t that much faster. I think people start abbreviating at the beginning of texting since they aren’t quick with the buttons just yet, but it usually goes away. I wonder if conversations will become mostly abbreviations with the younger generations soon.  ROTFL...Rolling on the floor laughing.

9 thoughts on “Texting translations (71 out of 365) #blogaday #sol15

  1. I had a conversation with a 5th grader who was writing an opinion piece. In his ending paragraph he wrote y.o.l.o I had to look it up on line- it means you only live once. I explained to him that readers may not know what that means and when writing an opinion piece its important to have clarity. There seems to be some spill over.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha. I often wonder if that might happen! And, I agree, my texts are always fully spelled out and correct grammar/punctuation – I have a full keyboard to use, there’s no reason not to. Although a good OMG or LOL is always acceptable in my mind. 🙂 I try to teach my middle schoolers about code switching – you may text it that way, but that wouldn’t be how you would write it for a paper.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Other than lol, I rarely abbreviate. I thinks kids like the abbreviations because a) they feel it’s faster to type and to send, b) for those whose parents don’t have them on unlimited plans they get more meaning per 160 character text, c) they think most adults can’t understand their messages so they are ‘getting one over’, especially as new ones come about.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 6th graders are totally into this, and they seem to love the idea that adults can’t keep up! I wonder if the allure is little of that and less about speed…? Either way, sometimes I, too, feel like I need a translator to read their writing! Fun slice!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I teach linguistics, and this is a topic that we discuss in our class. When I ask about it, most of the students now say that they don’t like it when people abbreviate. After all, most are using smartphones and with a full key board, they can type everything out. This attitude has changed. When I first asked this question when there were mostly flip phones, they all shared abbreviations that I hadn’t heard before!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

