Making memories (63 out of 365) #blogaday #sol15

​SOL day 12slice of life logo

Tomorrow is my last day in the fifth grade field placement 😦 I thought it would be nice to have a goodbye activity with the students that would create memories for them and myself. I searched for hours yesterday trying to find something that wasn’t a gift for a leaving teacher – I finally found these “goodbye books” on pinterest. They include a page with the students’ name, school, and year and then some favorite moments from the year or term. with what you are going to miss at the back. I sent them to my CT and decided that I would write the last page for every child and have them fill out the book for me so I remember them 🙂 goodbye book postWhen I first mentioned that I was leaving tomorrow before the activity, many of the students became emotional. I assumed I had made an impact of the class, but wasn’t aware of how much I affected their lives. It really warmed my heart that in the short ten week term I became so close to the students that they were deeply upset about me not coming back. These are the moments that make me want to be a teacher – it is all about the students and changing their lives in some way, big or small. Knowing how much I feel for these children as well reassured me that this will be a very rewarding career, and I look forward to connecting with different children every year! I hope to visit the fifth grade class next term (if there is time) because the school I am at in the spring isn’t very far away.

goodbye book post2

7 thoughts on “Making memories (63 out of 365) #blogaday #sol15

  1. That sounds nice. I loved my student teaching placement classes! I did my full time teaching in a grade 2 class, then was later hired to teach grade 5 in that district. Some of “my” second graders showed up in my room as fifth graders and I loved that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

