Down to dance (50 out of 365) #blogaday

Do you ever feel the need to WIGGLE all your stress out?

dance post3Well, that’s what I love about dancing! I did dance classes when I was younger and was always into moving around outside. It is important to have some form of exercise that makes you feel calm and energized – for me, that is dancing. I try to do zumba classes once a week, just simply dance to music in my car, or in my living room after I get home. Dancing really gets your endorphins up and you can play songs you like! For the way I do it, it is important to laugh at myself and have fun – sometimes, dancing can be taken too seriously like for competitions or performances. It is exciting at the beginning when you are learning the moves, but after practicing it for what feels like a hundred times, it can be dull. That is not a great way for me to build up my positivity. I enjoy dancing to a routine sometimes though as well as just randomly jumping around.

dance post2

dance post1

I think dancing can be a great way for children to exercise as well – dance is a wonderful art form that teaches children about beats as well as music and simple movement of their bodies. My writing teacher last term had a wide repertoire of talents he enlightened us with, and one of them was teaching dancing to students. We learned some ethnic dances like the polka, the promenade mixer, Pata Pata, and Ma Navu (they were great ways to involve everyone and some were partner dances that rotate which helps students mingle with different people). I found a fun poem I wanted to share 🙂

“We dance for laughter,
we dance for tears,
we dance for madness,
we dance for fears,
we dance for hopes,
we dance for screams,
we are the dancers,
we create the dreams.” 
(Anonymous)
Leave a Reply

