Pull out the positives (29 out of 365) #blogaday

I completed my first week of teaching math today 🙂

I wanted to do a post about staying positive through this teaching experience because many of my classmates are feeling stressed out and down on themselves for a bad lesson or not connecting with some students. These can be hard struggles as teachers to get past and remember that teaching is a learning process and no one is the perfect educator (even after years of experience). The students change every year so lessons will look different and most likely won’t take up the same amount of time. My lessons had mistakes as well, but nothing that I couldn’t get past and didn’t learn from – after my lesson on Tuesday, my CT gave me advice  which consisted of talking louder, wait time, and moving around the room more. I took it to heart and did pretty well on Wednesday with those changes, but the actual lesson took too long so we had to cram the activity in to about ten minutes. It seemed like I gave TOO MUCH wait time on this one, but the students weren’t understanding the content so I walked them through it and gave time for them to think. I saw that the time was skipping away, so we just didn’t do the back of the worksheet. It was a quick and easy improvisation, but my heart definitely started racing! Today’s lesson was pretty slow at the beginning, but the activity I used was very engaging and my CT loved my idea.positive-thinking postBasically, I want everyone to understand that there is LIGHT within all the darkness that might come up in your lessons. The mistakes seem rough when they are occurring, but try to think about something good that happened (like one student who you connected with or who learned the content). Graduate school can be very burdening with night classes and placement during most days, but it is a fun experience and we are practicing towards our careers as teachers. positive-thinking post2

Leave a Reply

