Absorbing advice about attention (28 out of 365) #blogaday

As I said in an earlier post, I started reading The Skillful Teacher and I am partway through Chapter 2 (which focuses on keeping student attention). It is interesting to see the various ways suggested – apparently, there are different categories of teacher behaviors: desisting, alerting, enlisting, acknowledging, and winning 😮 Some of the strategies I had heard of before and others were new to me, and I didn’t like every single one. I starred “using signals” and “touch” from Desisting, “unison” from Alerting, basically everything in Enlisting, and “humor” as well as “dramatization” from Winning. Enlisting had such great ideas! – which included “suspense”/”challenge”/”making students a helper”/”personification”/”connecting with student fantasies.” These just seem like very fun ways to get students involved and excited to learn the content. I can tell that reading The Skillful Teacher ​will be very beneficial for me – what a great buy! I ordered Teach like a Champion (for really cheap!) yesterday 🙂 Love all the learning I’m getting out of this post’s book and can definitely see myself growing as a teacher each year from reading the other few. skillful teacher attention reflection post2skillful teacher attention reflection post

UPDATE: The list of books I wrote down originally has altered a bit (​it no longer has Mindset or 7 habits of effective people, but some new ones instead – see image below). ​

updated professional book list

Leave a Reply

