Observation hour (20 out of 365) #blogaday

Being observed by my supervisor last week was a very interesting experience! I was reviewing how to reduce fractions with a small group – the activity involved coloring in a set number of squares for each color, figuring out the fraction of 100, and whether or not to reduce. For each observation, the master’s student is meant to create a lesson plan and tell the supervisor what to look for while he/she is teaching. I asked him to make sure that I was not calling on the same students to over and over, watch my overall management of the students, and check that I didnt give too many hints. It was somewhat difficult because my group was in the middle of the hallway at desks, rather than in a  room which made the scene distracting. The students also were very into their coloring so it was hard to bring them back when it was time to do the fractions and reducing. I was slightly nervous to be observed because it makes me self-conscious to know that I am being evaluated; however, once I started teaching the lesson, I totally forgot he was  there and paid attention to the kids. observation1 postAfter the lesson, my supervisor debriefed with me about what I thought I did well and he explained my areas to focus on next time. Transitions, clear expectations, and monitoring behavior were the main ones. It would have been easier if I gave expectations at the beginning and middle to give the students guidelines – such as put down the marker and eyes on me please. Transitioning between coloring and doing the math would have definitely helped. I knew that behavior was something to work on  -since I wasn’t in her room or my own  space, it was hard to keep kids’ attention and prevent them from talking to each other. This observation was very insightful for the many things that go on during teaching a lesson and what to remember to include. I’m glad we will have a few more observations this term and next! Looking forward to  teaching math next week to the fifth graders 🙂

Leave a Reply

