Knowing the kids (14 out of 365) #blogaday

For one of my classes, we had to do a mini case study on a student from our field placement. The assignment involved writing about the student’s background, discussing an unsolved problem and creating a solution with him/her, and then writing a reflection on the experience. I chose a boy who hardly ever turns in his homework because I thought it would be interesting to learn the reasons behind not completing assignments. I figured that he wasn’t just giving up or didn’t want to do it because I strive to give all students the benefit of the doubt. His story let me see the reality that students have different family lives and this impacts their time at school.

case study postUnderstanding the importance of getting to know your students to your best ability is essential! There are so many more things that go on in children’s lives than people can imagine. I have learned that bringing cultural background into the classroom helps students feel comfortable, but what about all the other things they bring with them every day? Teaching is a very empowering career and I look forward to bonding with my students, so I understand why they act certain ways in my class and the school environment.

 

 

Leave a Reply

